Posted by: kristabella | March 8, 2008

Dismantled

First things first, I still have my job.

Second things second, I’m only one of three left in the department. My entire department at work was dismantled on Friday. And I wasn’t expecting it at all. In total, we lost 7. By July 1 there will be three people left in the marketing department. Since I’ve been there since last May we’ve lost 11 people.

I’m not sure how I feel. Yes, I’m glad I have a job. But I’m not sure if it is going to be a job worth going in to anymore. And that six months severance would have been nice to pay off some debt. And I am glad that I didn’t lose my job for the third time in three years.

I’m heart broken. There is one person I work with who has worked for this company her whole life. This is the only job she knows. She’s been there almost 40 years. I would gladly switch places with her because she shouldn’t be treated this way by what she considers her family. And I’ve been through it before so I know I can bounce back from this.

I’m scared because the VP of the department is also leaving. And she’s been the biggest champion for our efforts. And I don’t know how things are going to go without her and reporting to someone outside the marketing realm.

I know everything happens for a reason. I’m just not sure what the reason is. And until then, I spend my time between being sad, scared, stressed and scared some more.

Responses

  1. Damn. There’s so much in the corporate world that sucks eggs anymore.

    And you KNOW I know exactly what you’re feeling right now.

  2. I’m glad to hear you made it through the layoff but bummed for all those that didn’t.

    Have another glass of wine, I’m sure that will help you relax a little.

  3. I’m so sorry for your friend, I’m glad you made it through. Being a teacher, I have my own trials and tribulations (which I think are horrible but most people just yell “you have the summers off!! so I apparently I can’t complain) but I never have to deal with layoffs. I don’t know if I have the stiff upper lip to do so. I am. as usual, in awe of you.

  4. Sorry to hear about your colleagues. It’s awful when something like this happens especially to someone who might have real trouble finding another job after 40 years. Awful stuff.

  5. Oh, no, I’m so sorry.

  6. That’s no good. In fact, that sucks, royally.

    Next week we’ll be in Chi-ca-go. And I will buy you a beer.

    Because we all know beer makes everything better.

  7. I’m so sorry. I hope things get settled soon. For me it’s the waiting that’s the hardest part. It’s so sweet that you’re worried about your friend too.
    Good Luck! Remember, you always have bacon.
    …and booze.

  8. Oh, wow. That’s horrible. There have been big changes in my office, and they have me feeling all wonky about work and in my personal life too. But they pale in comparison to this. Yikes! Hope things get settled for you soon.

  9. That WOULD be stressful.. as if getting up and heading to work everyday isn’t annoying already, add that to the mixture too.. argh.

    Big hugs to you K!

  10. Damn girl, this sucks. I was going to say, you and Ree need to hook up and talk shop, but she’s aleady beaten me to it.

  11. *HUG*

    Layoffs are ass, even if you aren’t the one directly affected by them.

  12. It’s always hard to immediately see the reason things happen. It’s great to still be the one collecting a paycheck, but it really sucks to lose people you are close with and work well with. Hang in there.

  13. Holy shit, dude. That sucks so hard. Keep on keeping us posted… hopefully blogging will help you adjust to the change in dynamic… and hopefully the new dynamic will be bearable.

  14. Kenny Loggins said it best, “whenever you need a friend”… I am here for you, let me know if we need to go to the dive bar and play trivia games! Seriously, if you need anything, you know where I live!

  15. Hey Kristin.
    Sorry that you have to deal with all this stress right now. What a whirlwind of mixed emotions! I am here if you need anything.
    JENN

  16. What a bombshell they dropped! I’m glad you didn’t loose your job, if nothing else this buys you some time to make a move if you want. Hopefully what’s left of the department will remain intact. The corporate world sucks! Drink wine, talk to others, hang in there. I do feel badly for the co-worker who with 40 years, was let go, some things are just beyond tacky. I hope she at least got a good severance package.

  17. I feel so horrible for you that I don’t know where to begin. How encouraging that you have this huge support system on your blog….old friends I recognize and all the new ones.

    I’m here for you, kiddo. For ANYTHING. Always.

    I love you to pieces.

  18. Work sucks. I totally understand, we are going through a lot of that at my job right now, too. It is a total rollercoaster. Hang in there!

  19. […] neighbours to the south. Because we’re going to Chicago. In March. Kristabella (who is having A Bad Week) kindly responded to my email asking what are the must-sees in Chicago. I owe her a beer and am […]

  20. OH my gosh, that just SUCKS. I have nothing else to say but offer some hugs and the suggestion of more wine.

  21. Ooooof, this is ROUGH. I’m currently a little freaked about my job situation, too; but for opposite reasons. I work for a very small design firm and things are just slow. This economy is not helping anyone, and it’s no fun right now. Hang tough, girl.
    Jules
    House of Jules

  22. Well, shit. I don’t check Bloglines for a couple of days and this is what happens (not that there’s any connection, obviously. Or at least, I hope not.)

    Sorry to hear you’re going through this – I’ve been there too, and it really does suck.

  23. Whoa. That sucks. I can’t believe they dismantled your group without warning!

  24. Thankfully you still have a job but sorry to hear about your co-workers not having one. That sucks.

    Our 9to5 is in the midst of drama as well – we have to read a “perez hilton” esque business blog to really get an idea of what’s going on here. – I guess our CEO and President wanting to show up to our offices to “talk” kinda signals issues

  25. I used to work at an oil company that was part of So Cal electric generator, and when gas wells would come in dry, as in no money, firings of the team was the order of the day. We would call the monday morning senior staff meeting “face ripping sessions”, and an optimist as the guy that brought his lunch to work.

    Chit happens, and well, its like that. One day things are great, the next, a runaway bus wipes out a few.

    Yeah, maybe you would have been better getting “bacon”d, but then, what would bacon do if he found himself in a hot pan?

    He would turn over, and get the other side crisped a little more.

    LOL

    As you know, you have survived before, this too shall pass!

  26. That is awful, Kristin. I am so sorry.

    If I lived in Chicago already, I would come over with a bottle of wine (or three).

  27. Wow, that is depressing. Good luck on riding it out!

  28. Been through this myself this year and survivors guilt sucks. Here’s to hoping it eventually gets better for you (and I). 🙂

  29. hang in there, things will work out. they always do!


Leave a Reply

Categories

