Posted by: kristabella | February 26, 2008

Tuesday Is The New Monday

I took the day off on Monday. This serious case of the blahs and Seasonal Affective Disorder and whatever else has made me hate getting up for work and wishing that I had a vacation. And not even to a tropical place. Just a vacation to my couch. I also usually tend to wake up thinking it is the wrong day, usually the day after it really is, which means I’m always itching for the work week to be over.

So I took the day off. And gave myself a three-day weekend. Which seemed like a good idea because there were errands to run, laundry to be done, apartment to be cleaned. But all I did was nap, read blogs and go grocery shopping. And also learned that I do not want to go back to work tomorrow. Me thinks this day off had the opposite effect.

Part of the reason I took Monday off was because I had an action-packed weekend. So I knew I was going to need another day of rest. And I was right.

Friday night a bunch of us went out to the burbs to celebrate Schwerer’s birthday. And we saw a great 80s cover band. And there was a sea of cute boys to drool over. And only drool, because they were all clearly under 25. In fact, there were two that I KNOW were not even 21. And I pointed to them every time they passed us. Because I’m obnoxious like that. And they were BREAKING THE LAW! WHO LET THEM IN HERE?

The weirdest thing was that Schwerer got a message on MySpace the next day from some guy who saw her at the bar and wanted to see if she wanted to go out. Let me just point out that this dude didn’t talk to Schwerer at the bar, so he didn’t know her name. He just searched through all the female profiles in the Chicagoland area until he came across her face. Creepy much?

They stamped your hand when you came in, since IL is now no smoking, so people need the in and out privileges. But the stamp was either a picture of Jesus or Charles Manson. It was really a toss up.

Saturday night I headed out to another birthday party. This was a surprise 30th party for my friend Carrie. And it was one of those pay a certain amount of money for all-you-can-drink for three hours kind of parties. Which means I don’t really have much to share from the evening. Because it is erased from my drunken memory. Here is what I maybe know:

  • I had a lot of liquor.
  • Luis Guzman was there. And he was short. And doesn’t like obnoxious drunk people.
  • And all I remembered him from was Free Radio when Lance said he was the guy in Ghost.
  • Because my friend was telling everyone after we met him that “he was in Boogie Nights and Ghost.”
  • I think the shot of Jameson burned off all of the lining from the inside of my stomach.
  • And it also sent me from the edge of remembering most everything to not remembering much.
  • I think I made out with some guy.
  • But that could be in my head.
  • We went to a second bar, closer to our hood, and I think I lasted all of about 20 seconds.
  • I really had to vomit and knew I should get home.
  • I stood outside and waited for a cab forever.
  • All while spitting on the ground.
  • Don’t ask me why I remember that.
  • FINALLY a cab came. He was a nice man.
  • I mentioned to him that I waited forever for a cab and that no one would stop for me.
  • This is all I remember telling him, besides my address.
  • But it never fails, this cabbie was in love with me too.
  • He dropped me off and got out of his car and said “Give me huggy, huggy.”
  • No. Really. That’s what he said.
  • And then I hugged him.
  • That’s apparently my thing because that’s got to be the fifth or sixth time that has happened to me

So needless to say, other than watching the Oscars and coating my lining-less stomach with greasy Mexican food and pizza, I didn’t get much accomplished on Sunday. Except for sleeping. I did a good job with that.

I wish I could somehow find a way to go through work like you are shitfaced so you don’t have to remember how you wanted to be just about any place else.

At least I’m hanging out with some of my favorite bloggers on Tuesday night! 

:::

And finally, even though he doesn’t read, I want to wish a very happy birthday to my brother! Who can be irritating, but whom I still love. Happy Birthday Mike!

Responses

  1. Sounds like you had fun. I am suitably jealous.

  2. Good luck getting to work today…I came in to being pelted with ice, snow, and horrendous winds. Isn’t this supposed to be over? It’s the end of February for cripes sake.

    Happy b-day Mike. Already sent him an email and left him a voice mail. How did he get so old when I haven’t aged a day? Yeah, right.

    Back to wringing out my sox….yep, I have a leak in my boot & there’s a puddle atleast 8 inches deep on Wabash.

  3. Maybe all the taxi drivers know you by now and *expect* a hug at the end of the ride? Like, your driver could’ve been so excited, CB’ing all his buddies and telling them that he had “huggy huggy” in his cab.

    At least that’s an amusing image in MY mind. 😉

  4. Umm, the lining of my stomach? Totally gone after those stupid jameson shots. Yuck. I thought I was going to DIE on Saturday night. I spent a good part of the night sleeping on the bathroom floor. When we got to the Hidden Cove, I found out there were like 50 people of the list to do karyoke, and even though I told the dude it was my birthday, he still wouldn’t let me go, so yeah, I lasted about 10 minutes there before I thought I would die and had to go home. Good times, good times! 🙂

  5. You hug cab drivers? Regularly?? I think Chicago cabbies must be nicer than NYC cabbies. Maybe I’ll move! 🙂

  6. I have never had a cab driver hug me. Hell, I can barely get them to talk to me long enough to give them directions to my house.

  7. Wow, I’m surprised you even rememeber that much!! Have fun on Tuesday, I’d tell you to have a drink for me but I’ll bet you already planned on it 😉

  8. You must really be chatty in the back of cabs!

  9. Hug a cab driver? Usually when I’m going home drunk in a cab I get in a fight with the cabbie over the amount he’s charging me. Once the police were called. I might have gotten out of hand that time. Oops.

  10. I think it’s time for you to be secretly video taped in cabs, because you are clearly involved in some illicit activity you don’t remember. Do you think you could be masturbating in the back seat and not remember it? It’s all very curious.

  11. Um, I’m moderately creeped out right now. I clicked on Luiz’s IMDB profile, and the first thing on his list was “Darc,” which is a shortened version of my name…

  12. Maybe I need to move there because the cabbie’s in this town are all revolting and scary. If your cabbies are hug worthy, they MUST be better than ours.

    Please tell me that you are coming to BlogHer because I simply MUST have a sit down with you!

  13. I have never had a cab driver hug me. I’m probably not nice enough for that. Then again, I can’t remember the last time I was really drunk because that’s the kind of boring ass life I lead. And if you made out with a guy? More power to you.

  14. I love that you make friends (or more!) with the cab drivers! The last cab driver that we had was totally pissed at us because our friend threw up on the side of his cab. Oops 🙂 We gave him extra money for a car wash though.
    And the guy on MySpace? Wow, what a creeper!

  15. Happy Birthday Mike. And who knew that a night out with the Hotfessional could be a TAME ASS night. I’m feeling pretty lame here. 😉

    Give Swishy a hug from me. No really. Do it. (Please?)

  16. “Give me huggy huggy” – Oh my lord, if a cab driver asked me for a hug I’d start looking for a taser.

    Sounds like you had quite a bit of fun and you get to see Ms. Lancaster – I’m officially jealous. She’s not coming to Orlando. :::sigh:::

  17. You always have the best cab drivers! Usually I’m half asleep or singing at the top of my lungs when I’m in a cab 🙂

    I wish I could have taken Monday off, I have a lot of things I need to be doing around the house, blah…hope you enjoyed your day!

  18. I just love three day weekends. I think they should be mandatory.

  19. Good for you – giving yourself a three day weekend. I need to pull that off more often instead of working like a damn dog Monday-Friday (and occassionally Saturday and Sunday).

    Kudos.

  20. OMG!!! Can I live vicariously through you? Seriously I miss those weekends and those friends. Mine all got married or moved to GAWD knows where-ever.
    I can commensurate on the job thing. I left my Ascend-Into-Hell-Daily job last year and have been doing the unemployed thing. Hang in there. We got your back!


Leave a Reply

Categories

