Posted by: kristabella | January 2, 2008

Piece of the Pie-Maker

You know what is not good? Not good is sleeping every day until noon for five days straight, getting at least 10 hours of sleep a night (no, wait, there is a bad part in this), only to have to be jolted awake before the sun when you are smacked in the face by reality and actually have to go back to work. This is not good because when you train your body into thinking that there is a good possibility it is going to get to sleep until noon, making sure it gets all the rest it truly deserves, you body will revolt and not let you fall asleep at a reasonable hour. Well, reasonable for someone who will NOT be getting up at noon and DOES have to go back to work tomorrow.

Man, I’m sleepy. My body, in all its revolting, didn’t realize it would be the one that would have to suffer at work today because it decided not to let me fall asleep until after 2 this morning. Which makes my total hours of sleep in the last two days 14 hours. And one of those days I got 10 hours of sleep. It’s amazing I got anything done at work today.

Oh, wait, I didn’t really. It’s still slow. I think a lot of people took the rest of this holiday week off as well, since it is only three days. And since, well, maybe some of them aren’t going to be working there much longer, what is the worst that could happen.

Thankfully we have a sales conference coming up soon, so I do have things to do.

~~~~~~~~~~~

I was going to write this story about how after 9/11, when I celebrated my birthday a few days later, some of the players from the 49ers showed up. Since the game was cancelled that weekend, everyone had a lot of time on their hands. And I was going to talk about how Bryant Young bought me a beer.

But then, one of my good friends Kevin Lynch, previously of the San Francisco Chronicle and now a blogger (!) for the Chronicle’s website, wrote about that story. Well, not really. He wrote about how awesome BY is (’tis true) and I just happened to have been mentioned. Read it here.

~~~~~~~~~~~ 

I forgot to thank my Secret Blogger Santa on here. She sent me this awesome deck of walking tours for the city of Chicago. And I can’t wait to try them all out. So anyone that is planning on visiting me in the near future, bring your walking shoes! And of course your drinking shoes. These can be one in the same. As long as you don’t mind possibly puking Old Style on your walking shoes. You have been warned.

~~~~~~~~~~~  

Are you guys watching Pushing Daisies? And by watching, I mean watched? Since the writer’s strike forced us to be without anymore of Pie-Maker Ned and Girl Named Chuck until an agreement is reached. Which makes my heart oh so sad and lonely.

I know I’m the last one aboard this bandwagon, but this is the best show on TV. It finished a smidge ahead of Gossip Girl. Which lost me a little after tonight’s episode. Because Melrose Place chick should totally be with Rufus the Musician.

Anyway, Pushing Daisies. If you haven’t seen it, I suggest you high-tail it over to abc.com and watch you some episodes. One, because it is a fantastic show. Two, because the dude touches dead things and makes them alive again. Three, he makes pies for a living. And his restaurant, or pie-eteria, is called The Pie Hole. Which, unless you are dead and need my boy Ned to touch you, is fucking hilarious and genius. (Boy, oh boy, would I like Ned to touch me. Ahem.)

I am in love with Ned. Like seriously, I think I had a whole slew of things to write about tonight and I just watched the last two episodes of this shortened season and all I could think about was Ned. He’s so cute. And I just want to take him home with me  and carry him around in my pocket at all times because he is just so damn adorable. He makes me giggle like a school girl every time he’s on the screen. I feel like Girl Named Chuck must feel every time she looks at him, you know if the show were set in real life and someone could bring people back from the dead and you couldn’t even touch the one you love. That face. His smile. His facial expressions. That sound? Was me melting into a puddle.

I just think it is a fantastic show. Every actor in the show is awesome. That little blonde, spunky Kristin Chenoweth steals scenes like it was her job. The principal from Boston Public is priceless in his role. The writing, the dialogue, the humor and the whole premise behind the show is fan-flipping-tastic.

If you don’t believe me, believe the face of this tall, handsome drink of water. Sigh.

My Future Husband. Swoon.

lee_pace_pushing.jpg

I just swooned my ass right off the couch.

And I’m sure there was something else I was going to write about. But. Can’t. Stop. Drooling.

Responses

  1. Love this show! My absolute favorite this season. And your right, Ned is a little cutie. I wouldn’t mind him touching me a little…as for the rest, you were talking about sports for a bit and lost me…

  2. I can’t comment on pushing daisies cuz I don’t watch it but the sleeping part–I have been snoozing till 10:30 most days and then taking 3 hour naps the past week or so… I feel like I’m on college Christmas break…

    ANd here it is now 11:30 pm and tomorrow who the hell has a 7:30 AM ORTHODONTIST APPOINTMENT?!?!?!? NOT ME, but it’s someone who cannot drive and someone whom I am responsible for, so i better get my ass into bed!!!!

    Happy Screw It Year! (That’s my new saying!)

  3. At first I thought you were the “KRISTIN” mentioned as BY’s wife and wondered why you had been keeping such a big secret…!

    As for Pushing Daisies: YES, YES, YES! It’s one of my all-time favorites. Have you ever seen Wonderfalls? That was the best show on TV when it aired a few years ago, but the network cut the season short. It’s by the very same creators of Pushing Daisies, and the hottie who plays Ned is the main character’s older brother in Wonderfalls. It’s just as quirky & cute; you should rent the entire season on DVD, you’ll love it, I promise!

    Jules
    House of Jules

  4. OMG. I love those City Walk cards – my friend Julia gave me a London set as a going away present and I can’t WAIT to use them!

  5. 1st, dude, would you call Shortman and tell him that he DOES need to start going to bed before 3 am since school starts again on Monday? Thanks.

    2nd, Hey, you got your name on a blog (oh, wait, that’s not new, is it?) – you got props(!) on a newspaper’s blog. You’re famous. And I touched you!

    3rd, Pushing Daisies – I’ve been going through withdrawals. I wrote about it one day too – especially about Kristin Chenoweth’s rack and Swoosie Kurtz. But oooooh, Ned is gorgeous. I agree.

  6. What Would Bacon Do?

    WAKE up girl, your still in sleep dream la la land. Get real, you cant carry him in your pocket, so wake up, get yer arse back to work and start walking thru the city in the cold frigid snowy sidewalks. The drinking part sounds good however.

    Now the rainman gave me two cures,
    Then he said, “Jump right in.”
    The one was Texas medicine,
    The other was just railroad gin.
    An’ like a fool I mixed them
    (Stuck inside of mobile with the Memphis blues again)

    And doesnt things he touch if they are alive wind up dead? Not that i have watched it.

  7. You are famous!! Too bad he didn’t link to your blog as well! 🙂

  8. Man, that post made me kinda miss some of the Chronicle writers – like Bruce Adams.

    I still have a pic of us dancing on the bar that night and I STILL feel a bit guilty about it since it has the date-stamp on it. It was still fun though… and didn’t we also see BY at the Velvet Lounge another time, too?

  9. I adore this show. ADORE IT! I will own the season on DVD as soon as it’s available.

    I even moreso love Chuck’s wardrobe. I am completely revamping my wardrobe to be more like what Chuck would wear. I have a dress coming right now from Anthropologie that looks like something that Chuck would wear and I found a lj community of people that are likewise obsessed.

  10. Love love love Pushing Daisys! There’s one episode where the sign burns out and it becomes the Pie Hoes. I am a loser and still laugh about it now.
    I got so lazy over the holiday and stayed up until 2 or 3 then sleeping until noon. Wednesday at 6:30 AM came way too fast.

  11. The back to work waking schedule has kicked my ass. I DO NOT LIKE IT.

  12. I LOVE this show! The characters are each unique….from Swoosie Kurtz (two aunts that are retired synchronized swimmers?) to Olive, aka Cowgirl Noodle from Sesame Street. I hope it comes back if they EVER settle the writers strike!

  13. Love, love, love Pushing Daisies, though the stories are sometimes icky, the set is so cheerful, that I end up happy.

    Um yeah, what was with Gossip Girl, she should totally be with Rufus cuz Bart and Chuck are both major asshats

  14. I don’t like Melrose Place girl. Her eyes are too close together!! Therefore, I want her to die alone.

  15. Pushing Daisies is one of my favorite new shows and we desperately hope it returns (with all of our old favorites) soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

