Posted by: kristabella | December 4, 2007

Lucky

Today is my mom’s birthday. And since I’m the world’s laziest daughter and just mailed her card yesterday (I’m better than your sister, at least), I’ve decided to tell you all a little about my Mom.

My mom is amazing. She’s been through a lot in her life. She was married to an alcoholic who put her into financial ruin and left her with three kids to raise all by herself. And she did it. And I think my brother and sister would agree with me that we turned out awesomely.

More importantly, we didn’t know how bad it was. We always had food on the table. And we always had a roof over our heads and clothes on our backs. While we were all selfish kids, wanting all the latest styles and to keep up with the Joneses, my mom busted her ass to give us the best life that she knew how. She sacrificed everything for her children. And she doesn’t hear thank you enough from any of us. So I’m here to tell the whole world THANK YOU on behalf of the three of us.

My mom is my best friend. I can tell her anything. And I always have been able to. And she always, always supports me. No matter what happens. Whether it is wanting to be the first female quarterback for Notre Dame or encouraging me to chase my dreams at Arizona State, even though she knew it meant her favorite child was moving 3,000 miles away.

She never told me I couldn’t do anything. I credit her with my knowledge that I can do anything I set my mind to. Because I can. And I will. And she’ll be there every step of the way to support me. Because that’s how my mom dos it.

She has put up with me through some awful stages in my life. My moody teen years where I would cry or yell, or both, at the drop of a hat. Or when I started to get close again with my dad in high school and shut her out. Just to have him screw me over again, like always. But she was there to pick me up when I was kicked to the curb by my father yet again in my life. And she was never there to tell me “I told you so.” Or rub it in. She just supported me in my accomplishments as well as my mistakes.

I do not know what I would be like without a mom like mine. One I can laugh at when she falls. The one I can make fun of to her face and call her turkey dry, and her love never wavers. She loves me for who I was, who I am and who I will become.

And I am this awesome because of her.

So happy birthdayย Mom! I love you more than words can express.

Responses

  1. Happy birthday to YOUR MOM.

    Ha, I just wanted to type “mom”. Sounds so strange!

  2. SOB! There goes my makeup.

    Thank you for all the kind words…I feel like I’ve been immortalized….and on your blog, no less.

    I love you more than life itself!!!!!

  3. Happy Birthday!!!! Yay.

  4. That was such a beautiful tribute! Happy Birthday to Kristabella’s mom!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Happy B-day to KJ’s Mom! We are both lucky to have such amazing mothers. Can’t wait to meet yours someday. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Happy Birthday to your Mom! She sounds like an extrordinary woman!

  7. Maybe I should have spelled “extraordinary” correctly huh?

  8. Happy B-day Mom J!

    I never realized how REALLY awesome you were…

    This made me cry too!

  9. Happy Birthday Mahnee!

    I lurv you by extension.

  10. Woot! Happy Birthday KJ’s mom!!!

  11. This is beautiful! She sounds fabulous. Have a wonderful birthday!

  12. That was so beautiful! And so well put.

    I can tell your mom more than I can tell my mom! I am lucky to have her for a mother-in-law!

  13. Have a great bday, C.J.!

    And watch out for curbs. They’ll pop up on you when walking around the streets of Chicago. Awww. Just kidding. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Love ya.

  14. would you be mad if your mom and i dated?

  15. What an amazing mother you have and a great example to look up to. I hope she has a wonderful birthday!

  16. I actually cried a bit. This could have been written for my mom. Really beautiful.

  17. Beautiful. You guys are lucky to have one another.

  18. Happy birthday, Kristabella’s mamacita!

  19. what a beautiful tribute to your mom. you’re both very lucky to have each other.

  20. Happy birthday, KJ’s mom! I hope it was a great one.

  21. What a beautiful tribute! I lost my dear Mom 4-1/2 years ago. Still miss her terribly. Today would have been Mom and Dad’s 59th Wedding Anniversary.

    Thanks so much – – I really needed to read something like this today! ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Awww! That’s just so sweet! Sounds like we have similiar moms. ๐Ÿ™‚ My mom and I will do the stupidest stuff together, and laugh until we either pee our pants or hyper-ventilate. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

