Posted by: kristabella | November 15, 2007

NaBlo Ruining My Social Life MoFo

I have exactly 30 minutes to write this crap and post it. Otherwise, I FAIL. And I don’t like to FAIL. And there are possible prizes involved, people. And I’m sure I won’t win. But you can’t win if you don’t participate. And if you don’t participate, you FAIL.

So tonight my friend Cindy invited a bunch of us over to her new condo. That she closed on TODAY. It was last minute, but she wanted some friends over to christen it and to help her celebrate such a LARGE purchase. I was happy to oblige. Because washer and dryers in your actual home? Make me swoon.

But then we got to talking. And we got to drinking. And PBR is the elixir of the Gods. And at $2, I can be in a mess of trouble. Yes my glass was a wee bit smaller, but for $8, I accomplished what you did in $12. Cost effectiveness bitches. My drinking knows no limits.

Anyway, so as we were sitting there having a grand old time, watching Oregon get their asses kicked by U of A (I’m still not sure how I feel about this people), I noticed the clock. And mostly I noticed the clock because it was Thursday and even though this has been the longest week known to man, one in which I have gotten nothing accomplished but purchasing a domain name, I still have to go to work tomorrow. Sadly. Even though it seriously feels like I’ve worked nine days this week.

And then it hit me. That I hadn’t posted today. I always post at night. And it was almost 11 and FUCK! I needed to race home to post. Cue nerd alert.

Here’s the thing. One, the people I was out with, they semi-know I have a blog, but they don’t know. I mean, they don’t have the address. Why you ask? Well, I met these people through Divorced Daddy. And while I now call them my friends and we get along so well (love them!), I didn’t give out the addy to them before because, well, they are friends with him.

Since then, we’ve all had the discussions about Divorced Daddy and how he is a fool to not want to date me. So now? We’re all on the same page. And now? It is OK to give them the address. Because I don’t care. And what’s he going to do? Fire me from being his friend?

But when you’ve drank the elixir of the Gods known as Pabst Blue Ribbon (it’s so good it won an award!), you tend to say stupid shit. Or shake someone’s hand too long. And mention that “hey! I’m a big nerd because I have to get home because I have to blog before midnight.”

Yeah. That’s what I told her. I had this rush of panic because I? Don’t miss deadlines. Or back down from a challenge. And I’ve seen this damn thing through for 14 days, I will NOT fail on Day 15. It’s not possible. Even if I had just ended up posting a photo of me flipping you off, internet, that would have still been something.

So I’ve not only turned into a blogger nerd. I’ve also turned into someone whose blog rules their world. Wait. I thought I was supposed to rule the world?

It’s time for bed Kristabella.

And next time? You need to get home to use the crapper. Works every time.

Responses

  1. I can’t believe that PBR has made a comeback. We drank that in South Bend in the 70’s. I should try one again. Wait! Didn’t you & I have PBR at that dive bar on Central? Dive bar + PBR does not = comeback.
    TGIF!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m with you that this has been the longest week ever. And next week? Short week? Will seem even longer.

  2. Hey Kristabella. Hi Mahnee! PBR? Ugh. If we’re going to drink beer, at least make it Labatts. Or Michelob. PBR is almost as bad as Stroh’s.

  3. Ha ha, I’m so with you on the NaBloPoMo nerdiness. I keep asking myself why I signed up for this shit. Only 15 more days until we can reclaim our social lives though! Hooray 🙂

  4. OMG, please remind me to take a photo of myself flipping off the internet for the last day of NaBloPoMoFoSho because I know that is what I might be thinking on that day!!!
    Jules
    House of Jules

  5. You should audioblog! That way you can blog from your phone. I did that when I went to New England a couple years ago so I could let people know what we were up to. It was fun…except I talk so damn fast no one knew what I said.

    I did wonder last night when it was midnight (EST) and I saw no post!

  6. I sure do love PBR.

  7. That’s hilarious!! When we were out the other night it was all I could think about as time was flying by, it was like I forgot to do my homework and the teacher was going to yell at me! Ha!

    And PBR…sweet nectar.

  8. Just embrace the nerd. I bet Montana Kristabella is not nearly as delightfully nerdy as you are.

  9. I was going to do the NaBloPoMoLoGoShoNaNaNa but I missed November 1st. And yet my social life still sucks, explain that.

    Have a great weekend.

  10. Nerd alert!! Ha!

    Son’t feel bad, I find myself telling a lot of people that I’m going to blog about whatever the situation is that we are in. I’m used to the eye rolling.


Leave a Reply

Categories

