Posted by: kristabella | September 19, 2007

Blogging Life

Or How Can I Have This Computer Surgically Attached In A Way That Is Functional And Fashionable?

I had a realization last night. I know. Alert the damn media. I was sitting on my couch open-threading Big Brother 8 at MamaPop Talk, uploading my photos and making a slideshow complete with captions, all whilst blogging from my couch. And I realized that maybe, just maybe, I spend too much time on the computer.

Nerd Alert.

As it is now, I’m on the computer all day for work. I actually have two on my desk! TWO! And when I’m not working, I am online checking blogs catching up on the world’s news (i.e. TMZ). So me and the computer, we are already well acquainted.

But lately I’ve been spending most of my free time on the computer. Again, reading blogs, world news, open threading and blogging here. And I’m starting to wonder that what I think is a good thing, might be a little bit of a detriment.

See, last night, as I was in my happy place, on my new laptop (LOVE!), blogging, etc., Divorced Daddy called. And I didn’t answer. Because, well, the season finale of Big Brother was on. And I have my priorities. And I figured he was going to peer pressure me into going to watch the Bears game Sunday night with him and his friends. And we have a sales conference starting EARLY Monday. And let’s face it. We all know what happens when I drink. I lose all rational thought. And I always come to the mathematical equation that beer > sleep. Every. Time.

Anyway, so I decided not to answer. I listened to the message. He was asking for me to meet him out for a drink. With some of his friends. (I think he’s scared to hang with me alone. I’m pretty frightening. Rawr!) And I’m glad I didn’t answer. Because I? Cannot lie. And have zero creativity when it comes to excuses. Because clearly I am LYING.

So then he texted. For me to come out. Texts I can reply to. It’s writing. Lying and writing go hand and hand. So I came up with the most brilliant and witty response in the history of the world. I said “Ug. Can’t.”

Yep. Am quite a catch, fellas.

Because I was blogging. And I wanted to be blogging and on the computer. And, I was in my pajamas. Because am 30 now. Reasonable bedtimes and all that old people stuff.

And then I realized that I spend 90% of my weekday evenings blogging or on the computer in some fashion. And this is how I choose it. I bought myself a laptop so I could face the TV and use the computer. At the SAME TIME. I wanted to be able to blog from anywhere. Including my bathroom. If so inclined. (Look, don’t judge. I don’t know when the genius is going to hit.)

And this is how I like it.

In the past few months, I really jumped in head first with the blogging. I think it was when I discovered Bloglines and realized there was an easy way to read 40-plus blogs in a day. And that meant more time to comment and find other fun, new blogs.

My online courage went up. I started doing the open threads. And now? The one for Top Chef on Wednesdays is the highlight of my damn week. Hate to miss it. HATE. It is no fun to watch TV and make snarky comments to yourself. Because the voices inside my head? They are not funny. And they hate reality TV.

And my traffic went up. And then there were new readers. And more blogs added to my feed reader. And suddenly, I was consumed with the blogosphere and contributing to it and being an active member.

My numbers have gone up. (Thanks Zoot!) And I have more readers than I have ever had. And I love all of you. Each and every one. Except Rich. 

But now since it’s more than just my mom reading, I feel I have a responsibility. To keep posting. And keep updating. And make you want to come back. And the way to do that is to continue to write. As much as I can. And I have decided that the best way (for me) to do this is write every day during the week when I can. Because this is the witty, thought-provoking shit people come here for. (Insert eye roll.)

I love writing every day. And most days, it isn’t a chore. (People, it is hard to be this awesome all the time.) I have “met” so many cool bloggers in the last few months. And it is this great online society that we have. And all of it just makes me occasionally squeeeeeeeeee out loud. (Don’t worry. I’m taking medicine for that)

I leave the weekends for my socializing. And that works well. Because I can drink more. And KJ + drinking + not having to get up for work = good blog material. It is the perfect balance for me. Because I enjoy mah blawging time.

So what if it means not changing out of your pajamas at 9 PM on a weeknight and having drinks with a short, balding, divorced Jewish man with a child.

I am oh-kay with that.

Responses

  1. Oh, I hear ya. I’m attached to a computer almost ALL the time, these days. It’s started to feel like a life-support system, and I honestly have no clue what I did before I had the internet. It’s work, it’s entertainment, all my friends seem to live inside the computer box… it’s crazy. Maybe we should start a support group? (And online one, obv. Couldn’t step away from the computer for THAT)

  2. Yes, that would be me, too. Now, if I could only get Zoot to out me.

    Maybe next month we can duel blog. I’ll bring my laptop and we’ll drink and blog at the same time!

  3. You don’t need to jump when DD calls… there’s no need to justify your plans to relax however you want. I, for one, enjoy spending my Tuesday nights eating ice cream and watching Biggest Loser. I will happily turn down a social engagement to indulge in this ritual!

  4. I hear ya. It’s quite the addiction we have here. And it’s one of the few addictions that comes with a crazy fabulous network of strong, funny, smart men and women.

  5. what’s new with spanky these days?

  6. I am guessing Daddy Day Care does not read your blog? 🙂

  7. Um, that would be a no, Lori.

    He may never.

    He knows I have one, though. But isn’t so hip to the blogging world. Which is how I like it.

  8. I got a bit obsessive with it all when I had my office job. It got to where I was reading tons of blogs multiple times a day. I had nothing else to do there. I miss being able to keep up with as many. Now it’s like I do semi-interesting things, but never feel like blogging about them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

