Posted by: kristabella | September 10, 2007

Six Years

I had an entire post planned out for tonight. And thank God for Yahoo Instant Messenger and Lori, because I would have posted it. And looked like the world’s biggest asshole. Since she reminded me that Tuesday is September 11.

In all honesty, I knew it was coming (duh, it’s 3 days before my birthday) but it doesn’t occur to me until I look at my watch or see a calendar or see an email that says it was delivered on September 11.

I really can’t honestly believe that it was six years ago. Sometimes it feels like just yesterday. To think that my niece and nephew weren’t even born. That their life has always been one where we are worried about terrorist attacks. They’ve only ever known a country that is at war with Iraq. That is a crazy thought to me.

Thankfully, I did not lose anyone close to me on that fateful day. But I do know it was touch and go for a lot of people that day. Like Teri, who is a flight attendant and was actually on the East Coast, scheduled to be flying back to California that day. Or a guy in the PR department, whose Dad worked steps from the World Trade Center. That was enough for me to handle. I have no idea what it was like to be there. To know people who lost their lives. And I hope it is nothing I ever have to experience. And something we never experience again as a country.

The weirdest thing for me was that I worked for the National Football League. Tuesdays are the players’ day off. But it is a busy time for the coaches. That’s when they do all their planning. And it’s also when the advance person sometimes heads out to the opponent’s city to get to work on the hotel, bus, airport stuff.

That day in 2001, my boss was expected to fly to New Orleans. We were playing the Saints on Sunday. And the team was traveling there on Friday afternoon. And the sad thing? As those towers were falling, the show was still going on. Kirk was frantically trying to figure out how to get to Louisiana. We worked a full day. Yes, a lot of it was sitting and watching TV and just sitting there with our mouths open in complete and utter shock. (What’s FONY?) But those coaches were in their office, with their TVs on, doing what they do every other Tuesday – preparing the game plan and playbook for the Saints game.

The NFL didn’t cancel the games until Thursday afternoon. One day before the team was scheduled to fly to New Orleans. We still practiced and had a normal (well as normal as possible) schedule on Wednesday. It was business as usual.

When the word came down that the games were indeed cancelled, only the second time ever in the history of the NFL, Steve Mariucci, the head coach at the time and one of my all-time favorite people, organized a blood drive. For every single person. Players, coaches and staff. Every single person.

And they all did. I will never forget Julian Peterson freaking out. Big, Pro Bowl linebacker Julian Peterson. He does NOT like needles. Or giving blood. And he didn’t want to do it. But he’s from the Washington, D.C. area. And one of his parents worked at The Pentagon. They were okay, but he knew that there were others that weren’t.

I know its probably pretty cliche to write a “Where Were You?” September 11 post. Me and all other 3 million people with blogs. But as I was sitting here typing a post about my dislike of the national anthem, set to post on September 11, it made me realize that I tend to only be aware of this day on the day.

And while we shouldn’t live in fear and let the asshats win, we also can never forget.

/end soapbox

Plus it didn’t feel right to have a post about booze or Britney the Train Wreck on 9/11. I have a little class.

Responses

  1. Thanks. One of your best posts ever. I had co-workers at the time in DC on business…took forever to find out that they were OK and fortunately they were. Also trapped there with no outgoing flights, etc. As they said, “small price to pay” compared to the bigger picture.

  2. This is why people still write these posts, even though it may be cliche. It’s fascinating to know where people were. I was on the West Coast, too, at the time (I’d never even been to NYC six years ago!), so I can totally relate how surreal and yet, somehow, immediate 9/11 felt–even from across the country.

  3. Me, too sweetie.

  4. AND God Bless those who are fighting today to protect us each and everyday!!!!

  5. Every 9/11 since that day in 2001, I take a little time to remember how that day was for me, too. It’s kind of spooky how well I can remember that exact day. Everything from the start of my day – my Dad waking me up to call and tell me to turn on CNN – to the end, praying at night for all of the people who were directly affected. And as I go through all of the details of that day, I mostly remember feeling so very sad.

  6. Very well said. You helped me jog my memory…

    I was living in that apt. on Chestnut Street, within view of the GG Bridge. Once reports spread that our “national icons” were targets, I was sad for NY–and scared for SF. Go to work by driving over the Bay Bridge, or stay at home, close to the Golden Gate Bridge? Good thing I had you and Lori around to help cope that weekend…

  7. I remember one of the freakiest things about that day for me was hearing that office paper from the towers was falling in my neighborhood … 30 MILES AWAY in New Jersey. What a horrible day.


Leave a Reply

Categories

