Posted by: kristabella | August 19, 2007

Everybody’s Working For The Weekend

I had a whole fucking post typed and it fucking disappeared. I’m quite pissed off about it. Can you tell?

I don’t even remember what I wrote. But I’m about to take this fucking laptop and shove it where the sun don’t shine, preferably to someone who works at the damn Marriott because I blame their lame wireless network. Or maybe I can blame the 17 inches of rain we’ve gotten in the last 3 days.

So this week is another sales conference. In fact, it’s the same conference as the last one in July. The attendees are different. But the schedule? Same. The material? Same. The food? Same.

Which brings me to my point. The point I had in that other post. At least I think I did. But it DISAPPEARED!

So with these conferences it makes it really hard to follow my diet. And I’m trying to keep it up. I’ve only been doing it for 2 weeks, but I’m really trying to stay on plan. And I lost another pound this past week, so I know it is working. (Although, even though I know I shouldn’t, I’m a little upset I didn’t lose more this past week. I was really good and even worked out. I know. I know. Slow and steady wins this race. But I was still hoping for two pounds at least.)

Anyway, the food at these conferences is not good for you. The sandwiches are drenched in mayo. There is cheese everywhere. And we’re having an Italian seven-course dinner on Monday night. And all courses are good. I know because I picked the menu. (I picked all the menus.) I also know this because did I mention? This conference is the same as last time.

So I’m going to try as be as good as possible. I am staying at the hotel, because I have to herd people on to the bus early in the morning, so it makes it hard to bring my lunch every day. And really, sleep outranks diet. Pretty much every time.

Plus, you know what goes hand in hand with sales conferences? Booze. And normally I’m all squeeee! Free alcohol! But part of the reason I don’t fit in mah pants is because I enjoy a beer or 17. So on top of showing the world’s greatest will power with food, I also have to avoid the booze. Which really? Is just crazy talk.

The other bad thing about these conferences is no computer. Although, I have some legitimate work to do, so I’m hoping I can leave the room periodically to work on some things. Because no blogs and no email make Kristabella something something.

Go crazy? Don’t mind if I do!

In other news, my cat does not have any type of bladder infection. Or anything else that would explain her peeing in the cat bed. She’s just a bitch. And has decided to piss all over the damn apartment for some reason. She’s sure going to love me being gone all week. I’m sure I’ll come home to a puddle of urine on my pillow.

Is it Friday yet?

Responses

  1. Okay, um, so I’m going to try and be helpful here… 1. portion control. Eat half of each course and then dump salt all over the rest when no one’s looking.

    2. You can’t be at a conference like that and shun alcohol. Seriously. YOU CAN’T. I know. I’ve been there. Just try to drink slower than usual which will = drinking less. Have a bottle of water between drinks.

    Okay, those are my two tips. I give you permission to push the dieting limits this week (that helps, right?).

    Also, I don’t know your cat personally, so I hope I’m not out of line by saying this, but I think pillow urination is totally unacceptable.

  2. I agree with HL’s tips. The thing I always have to remind myself is “this is not the last time I will ever eat (fill in the blank). I do not need to eat the entire portion now.” It usually helps me to remember that.

  3. God, do I wish it was Friday.

    I say enjoy the food and booze for the weekend – it’s only a conference after all, and you’re more likely to blow the diet in spectacular fashion if you deprive yourself. Or I may just be talking about me, ‘cos that’s what I do! 🙂

    I wish it was Friday. I hate (HATE) these weekdays.

  4. Moderation, baby, moderation! And you MUST find a way to check email and blogs. TORTURE!


Leave a Reply

Categories

