Posted by: kristabella | August 9, 2007

Hair, Hair, Long, Beautiful Hair!

So, I’m getting my hair did on Saturday afternoon. And I don’t know what to do with it. And I’m thinking I kind of want something different. And I’m actually considering *gasp* bangs!

Dun Dun Dun!

Seriously, I had bangs my ENTIRE life. I kid you not. From birth until I was 21 years old. I started growing them out right around college graduation time. I did the whole curl them under with a round brush kind of thing. Every. Frickin’. Day.

And now, since the ripe old age of 21, I have not had bangs. Because jeebus, they take a long time to grow out. Right now, my would-be bangs are about chin length. So they are actually shorter than the rest of my hair. But still not bangs.

But I’m not sure I’m ready to take the plunge.

And then I saw Amalah’s new do. And I thought again about bangs! Yes! Want them! (And not in a single white female kind of way at all.)

And then what to do with the rest of my hair. This cut works on me. But maybe it is time for something different? Maybe a new color? What. To. Do?

So this is essentially the ‘do I’m rocking right now. (I’d take a photo as of today, but it’s a bit frizzy and poofy what from all the HUMIDITY.)

june-2007-006.jpg

This is more for color. But you can see the layers, etc.

misc-051.jpg

See, it is a nice cut. Works with my face.

It’s actually quite weird. I’m not a big fan of change. I like routine. I’m very anal. I like things to be kept the same. But with my hair? I grow bored quite often. I feel it needs to be changed up every few months. Whereas most people wear the same damn hair style for years.

I went dark once. Probably a little over a year ago. It wasn’t that dark. Really close to my natural color. Which is the same color as my eyebrows. It was a nice change. My hairstylist won’t let me go too dark. You know, since I’m as pastey as a damn ghost.

Ack. Do not know what to do. Any suggestions? Besides next time write a REAL damn post?

Responses

  1. OMG! I love talking about my hair and what I want to do with it. Everyone gets so sick of me talking about it.

    First of all, is your hair naturally straight? Because don’t forget it’s ass hot and humid out (not that you could ever forget, ew.) I have been pinning my bangs to the side for weeks now because I can’t even both to leave them down bc they curl up (but I have wavy/curly hair.)

    One cut I loved (will try to find pic? I am vain?) was kind of like yours in the front, but then “flippy” as I called it, in the back. I said I wanted it to not be flat in the back and he worked his magic and the cut was so hott.

  2. I vote bangs with a sexy side part, a.k.a. lingerie model hair. I just got my hair did today, and for about 5 minutes after I left the salon I had that glorious, glamorous feeling of just-blown-out hair bouncing as I walked… then it succumbed to humidity and its regularly scheduled frizz. But now frizz with caramel highlights!

  3. My vote is for longish side swept bangs. I wish I could do that but my hair is too curly for bangs. I will live vicariously through all my straight haired friends.

  4. I like the side-swept bangs idea too.

    I used to have bangs until high school (maybe my junior year?) and then grew them out. When I have gone temporarily insane and cut them since, I have a cowlick with one clump of hair that spiral curls. It makes me miss my ROCKIN’ SPIRAL PERM OF 1992 so much!

  5. You have gorgeous hair… Me? Mine is evil lately. Completely and utterly evil. I’d love long, sideswept bangs – but I have a cowlick, and my hair sticks out in a million different directions. The last time I tried to have them, they’d clump together and just look greasy. WAH. Want bangs. Am jealous!

  6. just get a no. 2 on the sides and finger-length on top, like me!

  7. I think the urge to get bangs is related to turning 30! I took the plunge in March and have enjoyed the side-swept bangs. At first, I was all “I look like I am 12” but now I think they are sexy.

    I think you’d look really HOT with them…go for it!!

    Can’t wait to see the pics! You should combine the make up from those wedding pics and the sexy side bangs into your next photo shoot…and make a little extra money on the side 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

