Posted by: kristabella | August 5, 2007

And We’re Off

So today marked my first ever Weight Watchers meeting. And it went well. And I’m glad I joined. And I’m pretty sure it’s exactly what I needed to get back on track and lose this extra weight.

I think I mentioned it before that I need a support system and for something to make me feel liable for every damn thing I put in my mouth. When I first started, I did it online. But one of my friends at work was doing it at the same time. And I swear everyone who ate lunch with us just wanted us to shut the fuck up about how many damn points were in a banana!

And we didn’t just hang out at work, we hung out outside of work, which was quite helpful when you went out to eat and really, really wanted that 176th piece of bread.

There were others at work who had done it in the past, or were just so nice to sit and listen to me rambling on and on about shit I was putting in my mouth and the measuring! Holy hell the measuring!

I think I was on it consistently for about a year a half. After that time, I reached my goal and I knew enough that I didn’t need to pay $15 a month for it. Because damn! Eating healthy is expensive. This is why we’re an obese nation, people.

And then I got fired. When I moved home, I started to fall off the proverbial weight loss wagon. I was living with my brother and sister-in-law and a three year old kid. Who only likes grilled cheese and mac n’ cheese. Every day, I would finish off the mac n’ cheese leftovers from the pan. Damn near every day! So, so tasty. (I just accidentally spelled that T-A-S-T-E-Y. Damn you Fergie and your horseshit spelling abilities!)

I was sure it would get so much better when I finally got my own place. And it did, a little. But then I was dating someone and we ate out a lot. And then we broke up, and I kill the pain with food. And before I knew it, I got into a bad habit and what’s that saying? A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush?

And did you know bad habits are quite hard to break? Man, that would be such a great saying. Way better than birds and bushes. 

And then I was working at consulting place and we went out for lunch every day. And it was just more fun to eat out than pack a lunch. And new job has a cafeteria onsite. A cafeteria where I don’t eat soup and salad every day. A cafeteria where the healthiest thing I eat is Diet Coke.

And I’ve said I was back on the program many, many times before. And many, many times before, I fell off track. Because burritos? Are gooood.

But after going today to the meeting, I realized this is exactly what I needed. I feel that desire to SUCCEED like I did when I started WW the first time. There are people there that are all in the same boat as me. I have my friend that I’m going with that I can complain and bitch to. And! They weigh you every week! And give quite disapproving looks when you FAIL! If that doesn’t keep me on my toes, I don’t know what will.

And I’m writing down everything I eat. And I’m back to measuring things. Especially since no matter what way you slice it, drenching your salad in ranch is never only one tablespoon. But damn I got good with convincing myself that two servings equals the same amount. And that is why you have no pants that fit, Fatty McHugeArse.

So I went grocery shopping. And I made my lunch for tomorrow. And I’m going to do this. I don’t have nearly as much to lose as last time. I know it can be done. I will do it.

And if I don’t lose weight from WW, it will be from sweating off 17 pounds in this damn heat. I’m actually excited to go back to work tomorrow. Because air conditioning? Is not a luxury.

Responses

  1. Good for you girly. I have a separate blog where I bitch and moan about my weight loss (or lack of it lately) so I know the feeling of talking about it constantly.

    I have a shitload more than 17lbs to lose though. Bah! Let me know if you ever want to ramble about it. Am a good listener!

  2. The Targo and I were totally WW disciples. It worked really well and then? Well, he’s still skinny and I think “cookie” is its own food group.

    I wish you luck and seriously, you look fab. I know it’s about how you feel, but I’m just sayin’.

  3. Man, you are so right about Fergie. I thought she was alright because she spells G-L-A-M-O-R-O-U-S correctly, but I forgot about T-A-S-T-E-Y. What a moron. I’m not letting my daughter listen to her ANYMORE.

    Also, rock on with your bad WW self.

  4. YOU CAN DO IT!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Yeah! We will help each other. Because I also need someone to complain to when I really want to eat potato chips.

  6. Woohoooo!

  7. I am VERY excited for you! You’re going to kick ass!

    And Marianne … cookie’s NOT its own food group? Seriously??

  8. Let me know how and if I can help support your weight loss efforts! You know I am good for a run and a night of healthy eating 😉

    AND, I will be getting my personal trainer certification in September and will be OFFICIAL to help you reach your health and fitness goals 🙂

  9. Oh how I do remember those days of you saying ” hey do you want to know how many points that piece of sees candy has?”
    But you actually helped me stay on track.
    Just think how Hot you will look on your 30th.
    Sexy bitch!

  10. good luck. i’ll need you in tip top shape for this year’s drinking festivities in st. louis.

  11. I’m a WWer too! I don’t go to meetings anymore though – I switched over to online and I spend a lot of time on their message boards, mostly the GDT, which never actually talks about WW.

    Good luck on your journey, and I mean that in a real way, not the GDT way. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

