Posted by: kristabella | May 20, 2007

Well, Here We Go Again

It’s Sunday night. And tomorrow is my first day at work. And I just had a first day at work on January 8. And first days can be kind of scary.

Thankfully I’ve already hung out with some of the people, so that awkwardness won’t be there. But then again, I was a wee bit tipsy, so that should make for some interesting conversations. I really hope it’s a case of What Happens at Howl, Stays at Howl.

I am nervous though. Which is totally to be expected. My stomach has been a little off all day. (That could be for a number of reasons, though.) What if it is a bad choice? What if these people are fun to party with but it’s just the world’s worst job? What if the company gets sold or the three people who run the company are run out of town? (Sadly, people, this is a very real situation. And you know what they say? First hired, first fired.) (And now I’m not going to be able to sleep.) (And my stomach just did another flip-flop.)

(Side note, in my last job I was the account manager for the Motorola account. And in my second week on the job, Moto laid off 3,500 people, a lot of them consultants. Our consultants. Talk about wondering how long you’d have a job.) (And then look what happened!)

And I’ve gotten really used to being lazy. I’m not used to staying awake for 9 hours straight. I’m not used to getting up with/before the sun. Let’s face it, I’m not used to showering.

Obviously, I’m really excited too. I need to get back to working and using my brain. I’ve made like 3 huge blog mistakes just because my brain is overworked when it has to think for more than 10 seconds. (Look. Shiny thing. Oooooh!) Not only have I become a lazy fat arse who hasn’t seen the inside of my gym in over a month, my brain is getting a little thick around the middle and has turned into a skull potato. (Cranium potato?) (Cause that’s where it sits. Geddit?) (See WHY I need to go back? For the love of Christ. Am stupid and not funny.)

And I need something to talk about besides my cats. (Man, they are going to miss me.) Because the highlight of my weekend was texting when I probably shouldn’t have, overthinking and my cat puking. (That’s a lie. Brunch with Senor Beavis was way more of a highlight. Because, frankly, we rule.)

So wish me luck. And stay tuned. For first day stories. Of which I’m sure will include plenty of me making an ass of myself.

This must be what it is like to go back into the world after getting out of prison.

Responses

  1. Good luck, good luck, good luck! You will be fabulous, but of course!

  2. HAVE A GREAT FIRST DAY!!!!!!

  3. Are you saying that flirting with Meredith’s half-sister wasn’t the highlight of your week?

    Hey, I felt shitty the whole rest of the day too. Those bastards tried to poison us!

    Good luck with Blue Steel. Be professional. 🙂

  4. Relax, you’ll be great! Have a good first day.

  5. Kick butt today… You’ll do great! Have fun and enjoy being yourself.

  6. With your first day almost in the history books, I expect that you’ve already begun to “train” those new people you’re working with to the KJ way of doing things!!! Can’t wait to hear about it!

  7. I know I’m late and your first day is in the books but I hope it was good. Can’t wait to hear all about it. Happy New Job!


Leave a Reply

Categories

