Posted by: kristabella | January 5, 2007

Damn You Laundry Room Dryer!

I am trying to make my week off very productive. I mean, I’ve made it through 2 discs of my Match Game DVD set. Spent countless hours shopping. I even spent yesterday inside doing house-holdy stuff. I balanced my checkbook, did some filing, washed the dishes. Yay me!

(You might want to just stop reading now. It’s not getting any better than this.)

So today, I met Schwerer for lunch. By her work. Since only me and the Chicago Public School kids have this week off. And the homeless. After lunch, I went and returned something to the Gap, did some more shopping and spent too much money. That I don’t have. Because I am into day five of unemployment. But I did find a dress for Betsey & Hoddy’s wedding. Isn’t it cute? Looks good on me. And was on sale! Woo! Hoo!

And then I got home, beating traffic (Woo to the motherfucking hoo!) and decided to do some laundry. Because my jeans are about ready to get up and walk the hell out of the apartment. And I don’t mind the act of doing laundry. I like to have clean clothes. What I hate is that I have to walk up and down three fucking flights of stairs to get to and from the laundry room. It can become a pain in the arse. (My arse, which should be smaller from all the stair climbing, but is not because I eat 3 bowls of ice cream as a “reward.”)

When I went down to get the 2 loads out of the dryer, the one was still damp. So I shook my fist and yelled obscenities at that non-drying-dollar-charging-where’s-the-Maytag-man-when-you-need-him piece of crap. (If it’s not Scottish, it’s craaaap!) (Our waitress today was Scottish, lassie.) And I didn’t have my laundry card with me. (And don’t get me started on those damn cards that I can only get money added to during office hours, which is 9-5 Monday through Friday. No one is home then. NO ONE!) And really, I’m not going to spend an extra $1 on this stuff to dry it again. Lame. So it’s drying in my room. I will wear wet underwear if I have to. Or no underwear.

And this? Is the highlight of my day. Well, that’s a lie. Lunch with Schwerer was the highlight. Because interaction. With people. Who are not strangers. I am not a phone person and find myself craving to talk to people. Even people I don’t like. I will be so glad to get back to work. If only for the newness and hopefully much better posts than this week. I mean, I like sleeping in and all, but I need interaction with people. And not e-mailing and phone. I need to see people. Would be not good with the working from home thing.

Plus, once I’m back at work, I’m sure I will say something stupid that will be yet another hilarious post. Or I’m hoping the homeless on the train will provide some good fodder. Otherwise I may have to tell you all about my dealings with cat puke this week.

Step away from the computer.

Responses

  1. Mmmm, Scottish men.

  2. I can’t get enough of the house-holdy stuff. Love laundry, filing, balancing the checkbook, washing dishes, cleaning……LOVE it! You should try gossip. That really rounds out my super productive day. Keeps me going. Oh yea, your dress is super cute. It will look great on you.

  3. Unfortunately, Scarlet, the only yummy thing about our Scottish waitress was the food she brought out. She was nice, though.

    I wish I had some gossip! That would surely get me through my days. But my cats are so damn polite. They don’t talk shit about anyone!

    You? Love cleaning? Nooooo. 🙂

  4. Yeah, I read the pat about it being a female, but I stopped at “scottish” and then let my mind go on from there….mmmmmm


Leave a Reply

Categories

