Posted by: kristabella | December 26, 2006

Back to Life. Back to Reality.

I have decided that the worst part about Christmas is having to come back to work the next day and get back into your normal routine. There’s no more fun. And it’s no more holiday parties. No one is sending you cards and candy. I guess it’s not as bad as after the 1st of a new year when it’s no more holidays for a long time. At least you can use this week to prepare for the upcoming New Year’s Eve celebrations.

So how was your Christmas, Internet? Did you get everything you wanted? Did you eat until your belt had to be loosened a notch? What? You didn’t even wear a belt? Good move, Internet. You are much smarter than I.

So I have to say, Santa was very good to me this year. (Like baseball had been berry, berry good to Sammy Sosa.)

I got the gift I most wanted. In the whole wide world! (No, not alcohol. Although I did get some of that.) I got THIS DVD. Eeeeeee! I cannot wait to watch it when I get home tonight. Hours and hours of Richard Dawson. And Dumb Dora. And the big money Super Match. And so many laughs, I could blank myself!

I also got lots of gift cards so that I can buy some new clothes for my new job. To fool them into the thinking that I am indeed fashionable.

And speaking of new clothes, my mom bought me a cashmere sweater. Cashmere. Because as I informed her, as it is with all my tastes (i.e. light beer, hot dogs, Taco Bell), I need the highest quality of material. Because all those regular, synthetic sweaters make me all itchy. My body is just meant to only wear cashmere. Duh. Am now too fancy for my own good. Except apparently cashmere is super cheap now. There was this big expose in the paper about it. Poor Chinese goats. (I liked it better when I didn’t know it was made of goats. But that may be why I’ve had the urge to eat a tin can all day today.)

But now I’m back at work. Ready to scream. And no one is even here today. (Which is good for traffic. And the lack of stupid people calling in here.) But apparently it is my job to cut down everyone else’s empty boxes in the storage room? Against fire code or something. Why does fire care if they are put-together boxes or flat boxes? I don’t think fire is prejudiced at all when it comes to what to burn. Fire does not discriminate. Fire is good like that.

And I really can’t wait for these last three days to be over and done with. (I know. I know. I’ve been saying that for the last however many days since I gave my notice.) I just don’t get people. I mean, all the ladies and the people I’m closest to here act the same towards me. They are all genuinely excited about my new gig and really happy for me. As they should be. I am Queen. (Of more than mailing packages.)

But then there are the douche bags that just act all differently towards me. I’m still the same person. Yeah, you aren’t going to come up to me and ask me to work on a huge project. But that shouldn’t stop you from talking to me IN GENERAL. And then when they do talk to me, it’s all forced and laced with fakeness and seething with hatred. HATRED.

And that really bothers me. I know, I am far too much of a people pleaser and it bothers me when people don’t like me. I mean, hellooooo, how could you not love me? But it really bothers me when people who liked me all of 2 weeks ago turn on you. I know, I know. I shouldn’t take it so personally. But I do. If I piss in your shoe, you have all reasons under the sun to shoot me looks of death. But if I leave your small, not-advancing-anywhere company for more money and a shorter commute? Suck it up and be a grown up.

But to me, it’s very similar to when you get fired or something bad happens to you. You really find out who your true friends are in these instances. I learned that the hard way when I got the boot from Niners. As soon as word got out, I had tons of phone calls from people. And e-mails out the wazoo. And I still remember the people I didn’t hear from. And I don’t talk to any of those people anymore.

Same with me leaving this company. There are four sales people that I haven’t heard from. One of them I didn’t like. The other ones I thought we were cool. I mean, they were no DD, but we still got along well. And unless I hear from them in the next three days, they are off my Christmas card list!

And next year I’m totally stalking Lou Pinella. Or Jim McMahon.

Leave a Reply

Categories

