Posted by: kristabella | December 23, 2006

Good Grammar Costs Nothing

You know when people ask you “What’s your pet peeve?” and you kind of sit there and rack your brain? 

People who bring 12 items into the 10 items or less line at the grocery store? Annoying, but not really a peeve, per se.

People who stand in the middle of escalators/moving walkways so you are not allowed to take full advantage of the motorized-ness of it all? Hmm…..possibly.

People who are incapable of knowing the difference between it’s and its? Your and you’re? There, their and they’re?

YES, God Dammit! That’s it! Nails on a chalkboard.

Anyone who is a writer, or a PR person (except Fitz, clearly), or a high-ranking business person, or really anyone who seemingly should have passed the eighth grade should be able use correct grammar when it comes to the English language. I really don’t think it is too much to ask.

It is also like nails on a chalkboard to me. Have I mentioned that before?

I recently got an e-mail from a certain person I know, who happens to be getting her doctorate (yes, DOCTORATE!), that made me want to pull my hair out. Things like “…understandable if your busy…” (your busy what? Your busy schedule that precludes you from joining our party?) Or “…hope your able to make it…” (My GOD it just hurts me to type! And the spell check is going to go bat-shit crazy!)

My mom, who I thankfully (thankfully) inherited all my good grammar and spelling from, and I traded e-mails about this grammar nightmare of an e-mail. My mom also mentioned something about this person responding to my mom in ALL CAPS and mom was all upset with the YELLING. So I mentioned she probably didn’t know she was YELLING when she did it. I mean, she doesn’t know the difference between your and you’re. Here is what my mom e-mailed back to me. Knowing full well it was going to make me cut myself with the letter opener.

“Your probably write she didn’t no it was yelling.”

Good one mom.

My ex-boyfriend used to do this in e-mails too. Sometimes on purpose, but most times not. And it wasn’t that he didn’t know the difference. He did. He was just lazy. He once told me that, since he was so seasoned in the work world (yeah, okay. He was 25 and had never had a full-time job and works as a bouncer at The Ghetto Club downtown) (That’s really the name too), he stopped correcting people’s grammar because blue collar types don’t like it. So apparently, I’m an elitist ass because I get irritated by people’s incorrect use of the language. Fine. I’m an elitist ass then.

First off, I don’t correct people to their face. Just behind their backs. And usually I don’t say anything. I just sit there and quietly seethe. Unless it’s something that is going to be printed or seen by a lot of people, etc. I am a proofreading Nazi, so I want things to be correct. But I get e-mails all the time with incorrect grammar and I don’t say anything. And I’m talking work people. My friends have better spelling and grammar than people I work with. I just let it slide and sit there knowing that I am indeed better than you. (Kidding, people. Gee-zus!)

I full on admit that when I speak and when I write e-mails and on my blog, I’m not Ms. Perfect Grammar. I think the difference is that I know I’m doing it. I’ll say/write funner, ain’t, etc. But I know that these are not words. (See, not totally an elitist snob.) I know. That I use. Fragments. But it’s like so much funner to do it that way. For the point of emphasis. For emphasis!

And you know what? I’m going to just buy myself this shirt so you will all know how I feel.

product_main_u_grammar.jpg

Responses

  1. It’s one thing for it to be a typo, but to repeatedly make the mistake is ridiculous.

    I mean REDICULOUS. Harharhar.

    I am actually an adverb nazi.

  2. Aye chi waa waa!!! Wouldn’t take a rocket scientist to know who you’re talking about.
    Thanks for the good grammar props though!

  3. My grammar pet peeve is misuse of apostrophes in plurals. Like at the formerly MCI Center, they had a sign reading, “Jersey’s 30% off.” I wonder how much The Garden State would be for full price. Or on Desperate Housewives, the pool where Andrew swam had a sign reading, “Boy’s Locker Room.” Apparently only one boy is allowed in that locker room. GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

