Posted by: kristabella | December 13, 2006

Feliz Navi-Job

That headline was for my brother. He told me it would be a good headline. So there you go, Brother P. Even though you don’t ever read my blog.

FINALLY! Finally. I got the offer letter today. I feel like the weight of an entire NFL offensive line has been lifted off my shoulders. (And that O-Line? Would totally include Matt Willig. Yum.) And to top it all off, I even told my boss this afternoon. And then promptly left the office early. Because I had to go shopping. To buy gifts for the office holiday party. For everyone. 28 different $20 gifts. So don’t ever ask me why I wanted a new job.

So the offer came in. And it was a GOOD offer. It’s a great pay raise. And benefits. And the opportunity for a bonus, which is completely foreign to me, unless it involves the playoffs. (And playoffs = foreign) So I? Am very, very excited. I can’t wait to start at my new place.

AND! I left a message for Big Boss guy in Seattle to officially accept and he left me a message later telling me how excited he was and that we’ll be in touch for sure between now and the 8th. And don’t hesitate to call him if I need anything. And new Boss Lady sent me an e-mail welcoming me aboard and said she wishes I could start sooner. How awesome is that? I feel like Little Orphan Annie. “I think I’m gonna like it here!”

(End Scene)

And? My boss didn’t throw anything at my head. He didn’t even try to talk me out of it. And he was calmer than I’ve ever seen him. Said he wasn’t surprised. He knew the commute was killing me. And I secretly think he knew I had nothing to do. And only mailed packages. And he was really nice and told me he was sad. And was really going to miss me. And it was going to be hard to replace me. (Awww.) (And, duh)

But then, in typical JT style (not Timberlake) he had to add in that one little jab. He told me that I have a lot of potential, but doesn’t think I’m serious about reaching it, yada, yada, yada because I party too much. And to be successful in business, I need to be sharp every day. And if I ever want to reach said potential, I need to really get serious.

Huh?

Whatever. Just another reason why I don’t need to be working there. And why I’m SO happy that I have this new gig.

Because mostly, now I can get back to real posts. I am sick and tired of this shit (as are you all, I’m sure.) And thank Jesus I can finally get some sleep tonight.

Responses

  1. Congrats! I’ve only quit a job once in my life and I stressed about it all day. I never want to have to give my two weeks again. I’m just going to disappear or something.

  2. Yay! Warmest congrats on your new gig! This is going to make for a truly wonderful holiday for you and yours… Funny thing — it was exactly one year ago this week (tomorrow) that I officially accepted my job offer, and it made for a great Christmas. I could finally relax… and really enjoy!

    How are you going to celebrate? Have fun.

  3. Thanks! This was the first (and hopefully only) time I gave my two weeks.

    Although, in retrospect, it’s a lot better than getting shitcanned. At least I can get all my contacts and delete the “personal” shit off my computer.

    I will be celebrating for the next three weeks! Last night I celebrated with a steak burrito! 🙂

  4. Now you’re certain to have yourself a Merry little Christmas, courtesy of Little St. Gig. Giddy up!

  5. Congrats! Congrats! Your old boss sounds like an ass. That rhymed, right?

  6. Awesome. And I need to give you 2 weeks notice on something. My stock go-to job to rip on is consulting, kinda like my stock go-to band to rip on is Coldplay. This doesn’t prevent me from being friends with consultants, and you’ve never been one to have a thin skin (THANK GOD), but I figured you should know. 🙂

  7. Just to calrify, I am not going to be a consultant. Nor is anyone in my new office consultants. My company hires consultants to go into big companies and make them run better (like Office Space). I’ll just be the middle woman between the consultants and the company.

    So rip on consultants all you want. And I’ll be laughing all the way to the bank with my new salary!

  8. A RAISE!! MORE MONEY!!
    Yet ANOTHER thing foreign to anyone coming from the wide world of sports:)
    CONGRATS!!!

  9. So you’re a consultant once removed. You’re a consultant’s middle woman.

    Yes, I know everyone from consulting laughts all the way to the bank. But I’ve always been troubled that one gets paid a shitload to spy on companies and tell them what to do, but not enough so that it doesn’t look like they didn’t think of it themselves. And teachers quit teaching because they’re broke. It pretty much exemplifies all that’s wrong with the world. (shakes fist)

    Now you can buy me drinks. 🙂

  10. Don’t hate the player, hate the game, Senor.


Leave a Reply

Categories

