Posted by: kristabella | December 9, 2006

Holiday. Celebrate.

Last Saturday night, I went to the movies! I know, you’re thinking “who cares and why does it deserve an exclamation point?” (I mean except for the fact the I end EVERY sentence with an exclamation point! Dammit!)

I don’t go to the movies a lot. I used to. Back when it was reasonable. Now my month’s worth of Netflix is the same price as ONE movie.

Back in college, especially freshman year, I would go to the theatre every Thursday. And usually Friday and Saturday too. Sharm and I would walk up to Harkins on Mill every Thursday night. And we saw a lot of good movies. And a lot of bad movies. We were just discussing this and I think we both agree Feeling Minnesota takes top prize for worst movie we saw in college. And I think we only saw it because 1) Keanu Reeves was in it and 2) Sharm is from Minnesota. Bad decision, hindsight.

So Saturday night, Schwerer and I went to see The Holiday. It was like a sneak preview or something because it didn’t open until yesterday. Lots of good actors – Kate Winslet, Cameron Diaz, Jude Law and Jack Black. Ed Burns is even in it for a few minutes. And any minutes where you get to see Ed Burns are good minutes.

It was REALLY good! I was really impressed. I think after The Break Up experience, I had lost hope in movies that should be good on paper. I wasn’t expecting much. But it was really good! Seriously! Go out and SEE IT!!! (look, I’m not giving up the exclamation points! OR MY CAPS LOCK!)

I know a few people who don’t like Jude Law. They don’t see him as attractive. And I don’t get it. I mean, he looks like a little guy and skinny and I know a lot of girls want guys bigger than them. But Jude is just so fucking yummy! I mean, that smile. Those blue eyes. And the accent! He just oozes charm! OOZES! Love. Him!

Jude Law

Now I know I said it doesn’t take much for me to be entertained. So please keep that in mind regarding my review. But I am a sucker for a good love story. And something with a happy ending, especially when said ending = girl gets boy. It’s why I read chick lit. The endings are always the same. It’s always a good ending and the chick always ends up with who she is supposed to.

And especially around the holidays. When you’re single. It’s like 2 hours where you can escape your life and pretend that you will walk out the door and run into Mr. Right (who will look like Jude Law) and you’ll have a few missteps, but at the 120-minute mark, you’ll realize you both love each other and live happily ever after bitches! YEAH!

Anyway, it was a good movie. Kate Winslet was great. And so was Jack Black. At first I was thinking, how could you possibly think we’ll believe a romance between Kate & Jack. I mean, Jack Black is one funny-ass dude, but as a love interest for Kate Winslet? She’s beautiful. And he’s a little funny looking. But he did a great job. He was funny, but not overly, nowhere close to like Saving Silverman funny, but subtly. And it was cute and charming and I could so see those two together. And it was what she needed.

And there was this cute story line with Kate and the next door neighbor, who was this old Hollywood writer from back in the early days of Tinseltown. And he was great. He had this really interesting line where he told her that she needs to start being the leading lady of her own life and stop being the best friend. And I thought it was a really good piece of advice. (albeit from a movie) I think a lot of women are supporting roles in their own lives. They don’t make the moves, just sit back and wait and aren’t confident enough to take charge of their own lives. I full on admit to being guilty of this in my own life. And I thought it was a great way to put it. Really makes you think and realize that every woman SHOULD be the leading lady and don’t deserve to be the supporting actress to any man.

Overall a feel good movie. And I highly recommend you all see it. I give it two pitchforks up!

Responses

  1. I think he’s hott. I want to be his nanny. Er, you know what I mean.

    I LOVE Kate Winslet.

  2. you’re last paragraph almost sounds like you’re a young single 30-something. oh wait…

  3. Jude Law, what a dick! Wasn’t he engaged or married and cheated on his significant other? Whatever. He may be hot, but it doesn’t excuse the fact that he’s a cheater.
    Also, you forgot to mention how much you enjoyed the romantic thriller “The Promise.” That is the ultimate love story. Period.

  4. Well, yes, he is a dick. But that doesn’t make him any less hot. I don’t want to marry him. I just like to look at him. And swoon.

    You just ruined my next movie review! It was so going to be on The Promise. Except, I have to hook my VCR up to give myself a refresher. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

