Posted by: kristabella | December 8, 2006

One Hell of a Morning

So I got up this morning like I do most Fridays. THIRTY MINUTES EARLY. See we have weekly meetings on Friday mornings at 7:30. Well, they aren’t really meetings. Basically, someone brings in doughnuts or coffee cake and we all sit around the conference table and just bullshit for like an hour. I actually enjoy the meetings. And it’s easy to talk my boss into letting me leave at 4:30 on Fridays when I got in at 7:30.

So I got up, got ready, was running 10 minutes late like normal, and braved the butt-ass, freeze-your-nose hairs-make-you-tear-up-like-a-little-girl cold and went to my car. Stuck the key in. Turned it. And you know what? The God damned thing wouldn’t start! I pushed the clutch in as far as it would go. Stepped on the gas. Turned the key some more. Nothing. NOTHING! NUH-THING!

So pissed off as hell, I march my ass BACK up to my house to call my insurance company. I don’t have triple A, but I have some sort of road side assistance thing that I pay for and God dammit, I’m going to use it! They tell me they’ll send a tow truck as soon as they can to give me a jump. So I wait. And wait. And call the witch I work with to tell her I’ll be late and I don’t know what time I’ll be in. And then I wait some more.

Finally, Tow Truck Man comes and gives me a jump. My car takes the jump and I drive it to the AutoZone down the street. I see that “Free Battery Testing” sign every day when I pass it and damn right I’m going to take them up on it!

So they test it and it’s fine. Who the hell knows why it didn’t work this morning. I think my car is rebelling about its second winter. It wants to go back to California. And when it’s 1 outside, so do I, Car. So do I.

And you know what?? I’m totally just fucking KIDDING! This was my excuse for my interview this morning! How awesome is that? Yeah. It was so awesome until the CEO asked me if they checked my alternator to see why my battery was losing juice. FUCK. ME.

But I think they bought it. And you know what? It doesn’t even fucking matter! Because I am almost positive I won’t be working here much longer!

The interview went awesome! The Big Whig guy I met with was so cool. And he made me really relaxed from the very beginning, which means I got to be myself. Which means, who in the world wouldn’t want to hire me? So it was almost a formality.

I also met with Chicago Office Big Boss again, and he was pretty excited about everything. But they have their holiday party today/tonight, so I won’t hear from them until Monday.

And the recruiter I got this interview through, she talked to them and said they are drafting up an offer letter. So I should have it early next week. Which you know what that means?

No. More. Dirt!

(Hopefully. I mean, it’s not official yet. So maybe I shouldn’t have posted it on my blog? Oh well. It’s just so damned exciting!)

Responses

  1. Awesome!

    Although if your company has a “Big Whig,” I hope for their sake that no British people work there. Or chicks named “Tori.” And yes, I’m a dork.

  2. Thanks Senor!

    I wouldn’t mind British people at all. I’m a sucker for the accent. Although, I wouldn’t get much done at work, just listening to them talk all day long.

  3. How weird is this? I was just coming to comment about the “Whig” and “Tory” and Senor Beavis beat me to it!!! I may have to go to his blog & comment about the earth spinning off its axis & the permission you had from your Mommy to shack up, I mean, meet up, with DD.

    I am soooooo happy that you have a new job, close to home, etc., etc. And you’re right….WHO in their right mind wouldn’t want to hire you. Congrats!

  4. Congratulations Kristabella!!!! I am so happy for you. I hope it all works out and that you are extremely happy there.

  5. crap, you’re missing the new job’s xmas party tonight, and the free drinks?? dammit! but knowing you, that’s probably a good thing. don’t want to get canned on your pre-first day of work.

  6. Yeah, I’m pretty sure that offer would be rescinded as fast as possible if I made it to the Xmas party.

    We’ll save that embarrassment for another day. They’ll soon find out. It’s just a matter of time.

  7. I am so proud of your excuse I could cry!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

