Posted by: kristabella | October 23, 2006

Case of the Mondays

So it is past 6 PM on a Monday night and I’m still at work. Mind you, there is a reason. I’m waiting to go to dinner with some of the big whigs. I’m positive they thought I was someone else when they invited me, or they were drunk, you know since I don’t have a penis. But whatever, I said yes before they could change their mind. Two words – Free. Food. And hopefully some booze, but I’m not going to push my luck.

But other than that, I do actually have enough work to keep me here. Mainly because I work with idiots. Short story long, we have this sales meeting in two weeks in Orlando. And everyone I work with seriously waits until the last possible minute with everything. (Right, I know. Not different than your job.) So today, I have to do all this shit and it HAS to be done because we need it for the meeting. Um, hello? I enjoy my days of doing nothing and blogging. You need to stop cramping my style for the love of Pete. (Who is Pete, by the way? And why so much love?)

So that’s what I’m doing. What I do best. Work my ass off to make them look good. (Do you hear that? Those tiny violins playing? Hmmm, must just be me.)

But today is a highlight day because I have seriously turned into a secretary and I’m having that whole “I went to college for this?” mental note. About an hour ago, my boss asked me to make coffee. (I’ll pause here while you laugh and pick your mouth up off the floor.) Now mind you, this is NOT what I signed up for. I mean, I knew there would be a little of that – it’s a small office and I work with all men. Duh. But coffee? Fine I’ll mail shit and make hanging file folders for you, but coffee? You must be joking. This is on top of the manual that I’ve been oh so lucky to type up and get to assemble for the meeting. I mean, this company? Could. So. Not. Work. Without. Me. Seriously. MANUALS. COFFEE. I am an integral cog (does anyone else always think of The Jetsons when anyone says cogs? No? Just me then.)

But now I’m off to dinner with all the boys. Should be good. If only for the fact that I’m not paying. Stay tuned tomorrow for hopefully some good dinner stories.

And all you wondering “where’s the funny?” You know what? It’s my blog and I’ll whine if I want to!

Responses

  1. hey, i don’t like coffee, but can you get me a water? thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

